Spontaneous Brew Day

The stars have aligned for me to brew a batch over the weekend. It’s been a couple of months since my last brew so I’ve been itching to make another batch.

The timing is perfect to make a red ale that will finish up just in time for St. Patrick’s Day. I have been tinkering with a recipe since I finished Three Wise Men that I have dubbed Eye of the Loon.

Here’s a quick look at the recipe.

It will end up being a little malty compared to my original recipe. I initially wanted to use East Kent Golding hops, which I used in Three Wise Men, but the homebrew store was out. So I substituted it for another UK hop, Fuggles.

I used them in my first ever stout a few years back and from what I recall it turned well. The only downside is that it won’t be as bitter as originally planned.

I’m going to be changing up my brewing process a little bit this time, switching from (almost) no sparge to a batch sparge. I think it will improve the efficiency and quality of the beer. I’ll go over that process in the brew recap.

Follow on Instagram tomorrow to see the brew day in action.

Cheers,

TJ

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.